Cooking Classes

  • Led by dietitians
  • Various themes: Hands-on cooking class to improve basic kitchen skills and learn about healthy recipes and new foods
  • 2-hour class
Date Topic Time Location
Thursday, January 12, 2017 Just the Basics 1:00 – 3:00pm Mira Health Centre Teaching Kitchen
Thursday, February 9, 2017 Heart Health 1:00 – 3:00pm Mira Health Centre Teaching Kitchen
Thursday, March 9, 2017 Breakfast 1:00 – 3:00pm Mira Health Centre Teaching Kitchen
Thursday, April 6, 2017 Beany Goodness 1:00 – 3:00pm Mira Health Centre Teaching Kitchen
Thursday, May 11, 2017 Mediterranean Diet 1:00 – 3:00pm Mira Health Centre Teaching Kitchen
Thursday, June 8, 2017 Salads 1:00 – 3:00pm Mira Health Centre Teaching Kitchen
Thursday, August 10, 2017 Exploring New Tastes 1:00 – 3:00pm Mira Health Centre Teaching Kitchen
Thursday, September 14, 2017 Vegetable Harvest 1:00 – 3:00pm Mira Health Centre Teaching Kitchen
Thursday, October 12, 2017 Cook It Up Quick 1:00 – 3:00pm Mira Health Centre Teaching Kitchen
Thursday, November 23, 2017 Healthy Holidays 1:00 – 3:00pm Mira Health Centre Teaching Kitchen

 

Craving Change™

  • Led by dietitian and mental health therapist
  • A how-to guide for changing your relationship with food: understand why you eat the way you do, comfort yourself without food, and change your eating by changing your thinking
  • 2-hour classes, 3 weekly sessions + 1 follow-up (as needed)
Date       Time Location
Tuesdays, January 17, 24 & 31, 2017 5:30 – 7:30pm Mira Health Centre Site
Tuesdays, April 4, 11 & 18, 2017  1:30 – 3:30pm Allin Clinic Site
Tuesdays, September 19, 26 & October 3, 2017 5:30 – 7:30pm Mira Health Centre Site
Tuesdays, November 21, 28 & December 5, 2017 5:30 – 7:30pm Eastwood Health Centre Site

 

 

 

 

 

Diabetes

  • Led by multidisciplinary team: nurse, pharmacist, dietitian, kinesiologist and mental health therapist
  • 2-hour class for 4 weekly sessions
  • 1st week led by the nurse and pharmacist discussing what diabetes is and how to take charge of your diabetes
  • 2nd week led by the dietitian and the kinesiologist discussing a healthy diet for diabetes and physical activity
  • 3rd week is a grocery tour led by the dietitian
  • 4th week is led by the mental health therapist discussing stress management, followed by a question and answer session with the multidisciplinary team
Date       Time Location
Mondays, March 6, 13, 20 & 27, 2017 2:30 – 4:30pm Allin Clinic Site
Mondays, May 1,8, 15 & 29, 2017  2:30 – 4:30pm Mira Health Centre Site
Wednesdays, October 4, 11, 18 & 25, 2017 1:30-3:30pm Allin Clinic Site

 

 

 

 

Heart Healthy 

  • Led by pharmacist, dietitian and kinesiologist 
  • Pharmacist reviews risk reduction and types of cholesterol in a lipid profile (LDL, TG, etc.)
  • Dietitian explains heart healthy diet (including label reading, sodium and portion control), and the Mediterranean Diet
  • Kinesiologist explains physical activity for heart health
  • 2-hour class
Date       Time Location
Monday, February 6, 2017 2:30 – 4:30pm Mira Health Centre Site
Monday, April 10, 2017 2:30 – 4:30pm Mira Health Centre Site
Wednesday, June 14, 2017 10:00am – 12:00pm Allin Clinic Site
Monday, September 25, 2017 1:30 – 3:30pm Allin Clinic Site

 

 

 

 

 

Pre-Diabetes Class

  • Led by pharmacist and dietitian 
  • Focuses on lifestyle changes for diabetes prevention
  • 2-hour class
Date       Time Location
Thursday, February 23, 2017 2:30 – 4:30pm Mira Health Centre Site
Thursday, May 18, 2017  2:30 – 4:30pm Mira Health Centre Site
Thursday, September 14, 2017  10:00am – 12:00pm Allin Clinic Site
Wednesday, November 22, 2017 10:00am – 12:00pm Allin Clinic Site

 

 

 

 

 

Weight Management Class

  • Led by a dietitian
  • Explores how meal patterning, food choices and portion sizes affect calorie intake and weight, and provides strategies for putting it into action – food journaling, goal setting, etc.
  • 1.5-hour class
Date       Time Location
Wednesday, January 25, 2017 2:00 – 3:30pm Mira Health Centre Site
Wednesday, February 8, 2017 10:00am – 11:30pm Allin Clinic Site
Tuesday, March 21, 2017  1:30 – 3:00pm Mira Health Centre Site
Thursday, April 13, 2017  10:45am – 12:15pm Allin Clinic Site
Friday, May 19, 2017  2:30 – 4:00pm Mira Health Centre Site
Friday, June 16, 2017  2:30 – 4:00pm Allin Clinic Site
Friday, July 21, 2017  2:30 – 4:00pm Mira Health Centre Site
Monday, August 28, 2017  1:15 – 2:45pm Allin Clinic Site
Thursday, September 28, 2017 1:30 – 3:00pm Mira Health Centre Site
Tuesday, October 24, 2017 1:30 – 3:00pm Allin Clinic Site
Thursday, November 2, 2017 1:30 – 3:00pm Mira Health Centre Site
Wednesday, December 6, 2017 10:00am – 11:30pm Allin Clinic Site

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To register for any of the above classes, please call our scheduling coordinator, Debbie Leibel, at 780.453-3757 ext. 101

 

Location Info: 

Allin Clinic Site
10155 – 120 Street

Eastwood Health Site
7919 – 118 Avenue

Mira Health Centre Site
114, 11910 – 111 Avenue

 

 

 

 

The Primary Care Networks Program Management Office
Alberta Government
Alberta Medical Association
Alberta Health Services